Skip to main content

Student Senate

Chaired by the Executive Vice President, the Student Senate is the legislative branch of SGA. Meetings are held on a weekly basis in Powell 108. The Student Senate ensures that the students of Eastern Kentucky University have a voice in all campus affairs. Student Senators voice student concerns and pursue solutions to those concerns by working with the Faculty Senate, the University administration, and other bodies on campus.

Kelsey Beedy
Executive Vice President

Trey Hall
Speaker of the Senate

Senate Clerk 

Lance Munday


Standing Committees of the Student Senate

Student Rights and Academic Affairs Committee (SRAA)

  • Chair: Jonas Rügebregt 
  • Investigates issues regarding student rights, and monitors concerns regarding student health, safety, wellness, and academics. They also oversee the Distinguished Educational Leader award at the end of each spring semester. 

Registered Student Organizations Committee (RSO)

  • Chair: Aspen Mora 
  • Administers the Organizational Funding, Aramark Funding, and Diversity Fund programs.  For information on receiving funds from these programs, click here.

Information & Technology Committee (IT)

  • Chair: Carole Fowler 
  • Monitors issues regarding the use technology and electronic information, and administers the Student Technology Fee Grant, a $100,000 grant program under SGA's control. 

Safety and Facilites Affairs Committee (SFA)

  • Chair: Seth Johnson
  • Oversees concerns regarding student safety and campus facilities, as well as the bi-annual SGA safety walk. 

Ad-Hoc Committees

Committee on Bylaws 

  • Chair: Vacant  
  • Focuses on needed revisions of the Association bylaws. 

General Senate Members

  • Celeste Burgett - At-Large Senator
  • Riley Gilliam- At-Large Senator
  • Ashley Cristi - At-Large Senator
  • Alisa Schumacher - At-Large Senator
  • Alyvia Foster - At-Large Senator
  • Rachel Warren - At-Large Senator
  • Elle Myers - At-Large Senator
  • Brianna Neilan- At-Large Senator
  • Alejandro Tapia-Reyna - At-Large Senator
  • Mariana Arias - At-Large Senator 
  • Benaiah Cozart - At-Large Senator

Senate Meeting Documents & Archives

To view the 2021-22 agenda for weekly meetings click here.

To view the 2020-21 agenda for weekly meetings click here.

To view the 2018-19 agenda for weekly meetings click here.

To view the 2018-19 minutes from past meetings click here.

To view 2018-19 legislation click here.

Open /*deleted href=#openmobile*/